Bits and Pieces

Standard

This is a kind of “bits and pieces” day…

a. Since I’ve been drinking a lot of water, I’ve begun noticing how many different products are out there to “enhance” your bottled water. I picked one up that a friend of mine had on her table…it was iced tea flavor…you put a few drops in it and there are no calories…I wrote down the ingredients so that I could look it up tonight.
The ingredients are:

Water … ok, no problems there

Propylene Glycol…used as aircraft de-icing fluid, used in vaporizers and those e-cigarettes. As a
preservative in food and tobacco. Can cause eye and skin irritation.

Malic Acid…food additive and preservative

Natural Flavor…whatever that means

Citric Acid…preservative and adds sour taste to foods

Sucralose…artificial sweetener with adverse health effects(Mercola.com)

Acesulfame Potassium…artificial sweetener combined with other sweeteners.

Red 40…artificial food coloring with side effects. Could cause migraines in adults, behavior problems
in children and possible cancer. (foodsafetynews.com)

Yellow 5…artificial food coloring with side effects. (foodsafetynews.com)

Blue 1…artificial food coloring with allergic reactions to asthma patients (foodsafetynews.com)

Potassium Sorbate…preservative

After reading these additives, I think I will stick to drinking my water plain or adding some lemon juice to it for flavoring if I need it(or even some juice).

b. Update on the hair color…I went for a much needed haircut last week and was bracing myself for any comments from my hairdresser. She knows from the past that my hair was getting gray and white in spots and that I’d used conventional haircolors before…with sometimes not so great results. As the hair was falling all around me, I noticed all shades from a coffee brown to a golden blond..but no grays or whites anywhere.
As I was ready to pay, she finally says, “OK, what are you doing to your hair?” “Why do you ask?” “Well, it looks really good with all the natural shades, your scalp is so healthy and I can tell it’s not conventional haircolor nor is it henna of any kind.” “You really want to know?” “Yes, as a hairdresser, I like to know many options for people.”
“Well, its sage or coffee.” She looked at me puzzled and I explained to her that I would fill 1/4 of an empty shampoo bottle with my shampoo and fill the rest with strong coffee(decaf or regular) or a strong sage tea. I do the same with my conditioner. And then, once a week, I’d get a pot of coffee or the sage tea and pour it on my hair over and over again in the sink or a plastic basin. Wring it and then put a shower cap on my head and let it in for 1/2 hour before rinsing it out.
“well, it’s working for you…I have to remember that…”

So, I’m continuing this method of coloring my hair for now.

c. I read an article that was about an English woman who upped her water intake from 8 glasses a day to I believe it was 14 for 21 days. Once she did that, her skin improved remarkably, her bags under her eyes plus her wrinkles in her face diminished, her cellulite disappeared. She also lost weight by doing nothing else differently.
I had also read a while ago that by hydrating your body through water, you could improve your eyesight and improve/eliminate tinnitus. I’ve upped to 12 glasses a day and will see if that makes a difference.

I noticed this past winter that I’d gotten more wrinkles around my mouth area and my bags under my eyes have become more pronounced. Add to that, my tinnitus seems to have become louder. If drinking more water will rectify any or all of the above, I’d be a fool not to try…
So the experiment is on!

Til next time…Eva

Leave a Reply

