The “No Poo” Concept

Standard

“No Poo” means…no shampoo. After reading the ingredients in the shampoo and conditioner I was using, I went online to see what options were available. I found many links regarding the “No Poo” concept which actually means washing your hair with baking soda and then rinsing it in vinegar water.

Yes, baking soda and vinegar. Ok, I was perfectly fine with this concept but my basic concern was the question of what it would do to my haircolor? My “natural” haircolor at this point is patches of gray. I also realize that hair color is high on the toxic list and I guess I was at a catch all situation of do I try this No Poo concept and risk who knows what color my hair would become plus all of the websites I visited stated that one of the downsides of the no poo concept is that you can have many, many BAD HAIR days until your hair and scalp adapt.(your hair and scalp get very oily until it becomes stable).

You and I are well familiar with Bad Hair Days…I am going to be honest here…if my daughter and her age group have a bad hair day, they can simply tie it back, put some cute headband or whatever on their head and look adorable. But, at my age, if I did the same and walked out of the house, people would take a look at me and know straight away that I was hiding something!

So, I decided not to drastically try the no poo concept…what I did do was dilute the shampoo and conditioner that I do use…I made an herbal tea(strong) of sage(my hair color had been fading and I want to discontinue it if possible. Doing the research, Sage is good for darker hair and will gradually darken your hair…the key word here is gradually…). I took an empty shampoo bottle, filled it 7/8 of the way with the sage tea and poured my shampoo in for the remainder of the bottle. I did the same with the conditioner.

Now when I take my shower, I have the nicely scented sage shampoo mixture and the conditioner. It lasts approximately 4 shampooing times…very diluted and very economical. I have been getting compliments on my haircolor as well…it’s very subtle at the moment but looks very healthy.

Different herbs will give different scents and color:

Hair lighteners can be made from: calendula, chamomile, saffron, turmeric, yarrow, red clover and mullein flowers.

Hair darkeners can be made from: rosemary, sage, marjoram and blue malva flowers
Coffee, black tea and walnut shells can be used too.

If you want to make a rinse, take the desired herb and make a strong tea of it and when it is cool, rinse your hair with it, catching it and keep pouring it over your hair(they suggest 15 times) and then don’t rinse it.

So, at this time, I will stick with the diluted shampoo and conditioner…someday I may try the no poo concept…

til next time…Eva

Leave a Reply

