De-tox challenges…

Standard

I find that the more I do to improve my habits, the more I find to do. Once I’d gotten the oil-pulling and the dry skin brushing as a habit, then I started looking at the ingredients of the lotions, shampoos, etc. that I was putting on my body. What’s the use of doing the de-tox if I keep adding the toxins back into my body?

So, today I decided to take a few of the items I use and find out what the ingredients really are and if they are toxic to my (and your) system.

I took my shampoo and my everyday lotion and deciphered the ingredients(the ingredients on my shampoo bottle were so small and in white…very difficult to read as well as pronounce).

Next step was to find the ingredients online…I found several excellent websites to guide you along the way towards the toxic ingredients in our cosmetics…
http://www.lotionsecrets.com
http://www.nontoxicalternatives.com
http://www.livestrong.com
http://www.fitsugar.com
http://www.tightlycurly.com
tightlycurly has an extensive ingredient list that is alphabetical.

I found out that the shampoo I had been using had several objectionable ingredients:
sodium laurate sulfate
sodium lauryl sulfate
(cheap harsh detergents used in many shampoos. Causes eye irritation, dry scalp, skin rashes and
other allergic reactions)

Propylene Glycol (beware of related chemicals labeled PEG and PPG. Causes hives and eczema)

Synthetic colors..labeled as FD&C or D&C followed by a number..can be carcinogenic.

Synthetic Fragrance…no way to tell what chemicals are in the product.

Glycerin…can be manufactured naturally or synthetically

Stearalkonum chloride..was designed by fabric industry as a fabric softener…companies use it in hair conditioners and lotions cause it is cheaper.

PVP/VA Copolymer…a petroleum derived chemical used in hair products and some cosmetics…considered toxic if it is inhaled and can damage the lungs.

Petrolatum…mineral oil derivative that can clog your pores. It is used cause it is inexpensive.

Diazolindinyl Urea…Imidazolidinyl Urea…both preservatives. Primary cause of contact dermatitis. They release formaldehyde which can be toxic.

Methyl, Propyl, Beryl, Ethyl, Parabens…preservatives that can cause allergic reactions and skin rashes.

Diethanolamine (DEA) and Triethanolamine (TEA)
foaming agents. They cause allergic reactions, eye irritation and dryness of hair and skin. Are toxic if absorbed into the body over a long period of time.

One of the websites I was looking at stated that teenaged girls are at the most risk basically because of all of the cosmetics and hair supplies they use.

As I’ve said before, we all need to start asking the questions and doing our own research to determine what is right for us. After looking at all of this, I found websites on the “no poo” method…which means you don’t use shampoo at all…you put a baking soda and water paste or spray on your hair to wash it and rinse it with apple cider/white vinegar and water. Maybe that’s the way to go…I’ll let you know if I decide to go that route or make my own shampoo and conditioner…

til next time….Eva

untitled

Leave a Reply

