Where to Start? (Part 1)

Standard

Where to start? Basically you could start from anywhere and add on to a daily practice with baby steps so that you don’t burn out.
But, what if you are in overwhelm and don’t know where to start?(I’ve been there and still get that way!). One way is to get yourself s cheap notebook(I’ll be doing this along with you…I just picked up one at the dollar store, nothing fancy though I probably will decorate the front of it shortly 🙂 )

On the first page, put the date on so that you know when you are starting your journey. The first thing I suggest is to make yourself a “What am I putting up with” or “What is irritating me?” list. When you know all the areas in your life that you are just “putting up with” or gives you irritation, you have a list.

OK, what exactly are you putting up with in all areas of your life? If you want, I usually start with the basics of my living space. To give an example of some items I have on my list for my living space:

a. The front door lock..it sticks and it is difficult to unlock/lock it.
b. The living room curtains.
c. The cutlery drawer has too much stuff in it that I don’t use…and it hard to close.
d. Window screens in the living room need to be repaired/replaced.
e. Downstairs needs to be majorly de-cluttered.

Does that give you an idea? Once you’ve done your living quarters, then you tackle the other areas of your life…some suggestions are:

1. Physical Health – diet, water, exercise, weight, etc.
2. Personal Appearance – hair, clothes, shoes, eyeglasses, etc.
3. Work – your job, etc.
4. Emotional – spouse/so, children, parents, family, friends, etc.
5. Financial – bills, savings, budget, etc.
6. Desperate needs you have
7. Time Constraints – are you involved in too many activities that are putting you in overwhelm?
8. Clutter – physical, mental, time, etc.

Give yourself plenty of time to complete these lists for yourself. They will form a basis for you to follow in the days and weeks ahead. So find your notebook, a quiet spot and your favorite beverage, some soothing music perhaps and take some quality time to write your lists. I’ll be doing the same. And then when I come back, we will go over part 2.

til next time…Eva

Leave a Reply

